Flores de Costa Rica


After a pause of much too long, it’s time for installment 3 of Costa Rica photos!  And this time it’s a colorful bouquet =)

I love photographing flowers, just as long as there’s enough light and it’s not too breezy.  As long as I can get a crisp, well lit photo, it’s amazing what the blooms can become with some creative cropping and a few tweaks in photoshop.  I used a combo of Aperture, Lightroom, and Picasa when putting these photos together.  I really like the cropping tool in Picasa, when you select the photo and then crop, it uses an algorithm to recommend 3 different cropping options, and they’re usually pretty good!

I always have a hard time deciding just how far to go when post-processing…  I usually like to increase the contrast so that the flowers really pop from the background, but that can sometimes make the image a little fuzzy or make the saturation of the colors look off.  I also played a bit with some of the different definition tools, which seem to work well to a point, but if you turn them up too far they actually cause the image to start looking grainy.  Overall, these are some of my favorite flower pics to date, I hope you enjoy them too!

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, photography, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flores de Costa Rica

  1. W2 says:

    Nice job Eve. I especially like number 4, the yellow one.

Leave a Reply

