Monos of Costa Rica


Here’s the second installment of Costa Rica photos!  This trip there seemed to be monkeys everywhere we went, especially in the trees below the condo (the howler monkeys woke us up at all hours!).  I had several great opportunities to watch these little guys eat, groom, swing by their tails, and then had to avoid (and not always successfully) falling tree parts and monkey poop.

With just a small bump on my head from falling tree bark I snapped as many shots as I could, hoping to get a few good ones that were in focus and not blurry.  There were usually several layers of branches between me and the monkeys, so it was always hard to tell if I was focused on a monkey or on leaves.  But even when I tried to switch to manual focus, the monkeys were usually just far enough away to where I couldn’t tell if I was really focused or not.  The other big problem was that I was on the ground looking up with sunshine glaring down from above the trees (always these backlight troubles!) and I obviously didn’t want to use the flash to scare them away (not that mine is strong enough to reach them anyways).  So a little post-processing was done to doctor them up and make them less of a silouhette, but a lot of the detail seems to be lost.

I did get a light reflector from Santa Claus this year, but it wasn’t something I thought to bring along on a hiking trip =)  I’ll definitely be bringing it in my bag for portraits from now on though!  Still more Costa Rica photos to come, but enjoy the Monos!

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

