Mariposas of Costa Rica


Happy New Year to all my Phlogger (photo-blogger, thanks Jen!) Friends!  One of my new years resolutions is to not be so delinquent in keeping up with my blog, it’s been months!  However, I currently have a very large backlog of photos and am back in chilly Southern Maryland with not a whole lot to keep my weekends busy, so expect a lot more posts =)

Over the holidays I went back to Costa Rica where we were met by monkeys, neighborhood dogs, rum, and gorgeous sunsets.  My husbands family was with us,  and while he was off scuba diving they got my lazy butt off my lounge chair and out into nature!  There were definitely more photo ops in the rain forest than by the pool…

One of our first stops was Rincon de la Vieja for a “leisurely” hike, where I unsuccessfully  avoided getting hit by falling tree debris (thanks to the monkeys), bouldered our way up and down steep paths to a waterfall, scared away a toucan before I could get a shot, and chased elusive butterflies.  But that last effort, with some good eyes and persistence, resulted in some great shots!  All through the hike we kept seeing these amazing, big blue butterflies (which we nicknamed “Big Blue” but the real name is Blue Morpho), but never saw one land long enough to get a picture.  Finally on the last 1/2 mile or so of the hike my father-in-law saw one land on the far side of a stream we were about to cross.  I snapped a photo but was just too far away, so I snuck up on it a few feet at a time, taking a few more shots with each step, until finally a scared him away, but not before capturing those gorgeous blue wings.

Enjoy “Big Blue” and the other Mariposa’s I caught on camera during the trip, and be on the lookout for more from Costa Rica soon!  Look close, some of them have pretty good camouflage =)

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mariposas of Costa Rica

  1. Annie says:

    You are so talented! Your photos are stunning…thanks for sending…!
    love, A

Leave a Reply

