Sunny Day


On one of the last few beautiful days of fall, I met my friends Dan & Caroline and their little guy Sam to take some family photos before all the colorful leaves were gone.  It was truly a gorgeous sunny day, which made for a great excuse to get outside, but posed a few lighting/exposure challenges.  The inevitable questions… Do I face my subjects into the sun, even if they might get squinty?  Do I let them be backlit and hope I get something more than a silhouette? Do I put them in the shade?  What settings should I use in each of these situations?  Am I thinking to hard about this?  And how do I get a toddler to look at me and smile in the process?

So I tried out a combo of all of the above, and got varying solutions.  Some of my favorite shots of their smiling faces were pretty backlit, so I decided to break out of my usual post-processing solutions and tried Adobe Lightroom to help brighten up my subjects.  This was my first time using this software, and though I wanted to call my friend Jen frantically for help, I had completely lost my voice, so I braved it alone.  The Fill Light tool definitely saved some of these shots!  But between the scenery, the happy family, fall colors, and a little help from the computer, I think we may have a few photos worthy of a Christmas card =)

 

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, People, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

