X-Posure X-periment


If you’ve never seen an HDR photo before, google it.  It’s amazing what photoshop can do!  My friend Jen forwarded an HDR blog post to me and I was blown away.  HDR stands for High Dynamic Range, which is a technique where a photo is taken at 3 different exposures, and the most dynamic components of the pictures are photoshopped into a single picture.  The results can be breathtaking!

I decided to do a little research by going out and taking a lot of photos at varying exposures, but there were a few key things I didn’t take into consideration; tripod, self timer,  and auto multi-exposures.  If you don’t use a tripod and either a self timer or remote to take the pictures, there will be slight variations in the shots that will make it difficult to photoshop.  And a lot of cameras have a feature that with one click of the button it will take 3 or more shots with varying exposures, which saves you from having to re-set the settings on the camera in between shots and will make the photo’s more consistent.

Too bad I didn’t do any reading beforehand, because this sunset was amazing!  Hopefully some HDR pieces coming soon, but for now enjoy these photos taken from the old boat ramp in the neighborhood…

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, Places and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to X-Posure X-periment

  1. hope halleen says:

    high tech! Great!love,mommy

  2. Nice images. You need to get photomatix, it’s HDR software. Photomatix light is free, or you can get the full version pretty cheap. It’s way easier to do HDR there than in photoshop.

  3. Eve Ford says:

    Thanks Wesley! I’ll check it out and let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

