Springtime in Southern Maryland!


So I’m excited, because it is going to be an amazingly gorgeous weekend here in Southern Maryland!  I’ve been battling a cold this week (I’m blaming allergies mixed with air travel) but I’m feeling much better now and the down time has given me a chance to catch up on some of the photos that have been sitting on my memory card.

A couple weekends ago my husband’s aunt and uncle were in town and we gave them the grand tour of Southern Maryland, including one of the most beautiful spots around, Sotterly Plantation and it’s fantastic gardens.  My friend Jonnie is getting married at Sotterly in just over a month, and I’m hoping the flowers will be even more breathtaking by then.

It was the weekend of  the Tiki Bar opening, which is probably the busiest weekend of the year down here, so we tried to avoid all the craziness (and crazies) by keeping to some less crowded spots like the plantation and historic St. Mary’s City to see the original Maryland state house.  I’m now committed to getting a lens with more zoom, we were walking around the plantation when we spotted a Bald Eagle posing for us up in the trees near it’s nest.  I got a pretty good shot of him, but had to crop it down quite a bit.  I’m saving up to by a wakeboarding boat, so I may have to take a little money out of that fund to invest in that… more research needed…

About Eve Ford

I'm a full time mom & full time engineer, and I love taking photos of my family, friends, and surroundings in my free time. I hope you enjoy them!
This entry was posted in Nature, Places and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Springtime in Southern Maryland!

  1. Hope Halleen says:

    Absolutely beautiful!

Leave a Reply

